Analytic Philosophy

Logical Positivism

What is logical positivism?

A new generation of thinkers who were influenced by Bertrand Russell (1872–1970) and Ludwig Wittgenstein (1889–1951) created a twentieth century version of Auguste Comte’s (1798–1857) nineteenth century intellectual endorsement of science. The term “logical positivism” was coined in 1930 by two supporters: E. Kaila and A. Petzäll, philosophers who were part of the early movement that logical positivism came to represent. The twentieth century positivists Moritz Schlick (1882–1936), Rudolf Carnap (1891–1970), Otto Neurath (1882–1945), and in England, A.J. Ayer (1910–1989) were members of what became known as the “Vienna Circle.”


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Philosophy Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App