James Monroe


What countries to the south of the United States did President Monroe and the United States recognize?

The United States recognized Mexico as an independent country in December 1822 and Argentina in January 1823. Both were former Spanish colonies.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Presidents Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App