John Adams

Political Offices

What famous document did Adams help create and sign as a member of the Continental Congress?

The Continental Congress formed a committee of five men to draft what became known as the Declaration of Independence. These men were John Adams, Benjamin Franklin, Thomas Jefferson, Robert R. Livingston, and Roger Sherman. The committee eventually selected Thomas Jefferson to write the Declaration. Adams and Jefferson were the only presidents to sign the Declaration.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Presidents Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App