James Monroe


What members of Monroe’s cabinet later ran for president?

Monroe’s secretary of state, John Quincy Adams, later became his successor and the sixth president of the United States. His secretary of the treasury, William H. Crawford, ran against Quincy Adams and others during the election of 1824. Monroe’s attorney general, William Wirt, ran as a minor third-party candidate during the election of 1832.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Presidents Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App