Woodrow Wilson


What three constitutional amendments were passed while Wilson was president?

The Seventeenth Amendment, Eighteenth Amendment, and Nineteenth Amendments were passed during Wilson’s presidency. The Seventeenth Amendment provided for direct popular elections of U.S. senators. Previously, state legislatures had elected senators. The controversial Eighteenth Amendment created Prohibition, the outlawing of alcoholic beverages. It was later repealed by the Twenty-First Amendment. The Nineteenth Amendment gave women the right to vote.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Presidents Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App