Woodrow Wilson


What was “The Fourteen Points” speech and what were the points in that speech?

The Fourteen Points refers to a speech President Wilson delivered before the U.S. Congress on January 8, 1918, that outlined his fourteen provisions that a peace treaty to end World War I must contain. Those fourteen points were: (1) an open peace process free of secret diplomacy; (2) free navigation on the seas; (3) equality of trade between nations free from economic conditions; (4) reduction of national armaments; (5) review of colonial claims with consideration given to the concerned population; (6) evacuation of Russian territory by other countries; (7) the removal of troops from Belgium and recognition of it again as an independent sovereign state; (8) freeing of all French territory and French acquisition of the Alsace-Lorraine territory; (9) realignment of borders of Italy; (10) a chance for autonomy for the people of Austria-Hungary; (11) evacuation and restoration of Rumania, Serbia, and Montenegro; (12) sovereignty for the Turkish part of the Ottoman Empire, but recognition of other nationalities under Turkish rule; (13) a free Poland; and (14) a general association of all member nations.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Presidents Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App