Franklin Pierce


What was most unusual about Pierce’s cabinet aside from the vice presidency?

Pierce is the only president who had the rest of his cabinet serve the entire term. There were no resignations, dismissals, retirements or deaths among the members: Secretary of State William L. Marcy, Secretary of the Treasury James Guthrie, Secretary of War Jefferson Davis, Attorney General Caleb Cushing, Secretary of the Navy James C. Dobbin, Postmaster General James Campbell, and Secretary of the Interior Robert McClelland.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Presidents Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App