James Monroe


What was unusual about Monroe’s cabinet?

Monroe had the fortune of much continuity in his cabinet. His vice president, secretary of state, secretary of treasury and secretary of war—Daniel Tompkins, John Quincy Adams, William H. Crawford, and John C. Calhoun, respectively—served the entirety of Monroe’s two terms as president.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Presidents Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App