George Washington


Where did Washington serve as president?

Washington served as President during his first year in office in New York, which was the nation’s capital at that time. In 1790, Congress passed the Residence Act, which called for the creation of a new capital in what became known as the District of Columbia, where the new governmental buildings could be constructed. Philadelphia served as the temporary location of the capital until 1800, when the District of Columbia was ready for the president. Thus, Washington was the only president who did not reside in the District of Columbia.

A portrait of Washington taking the oath of office.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Presidents Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App