James Madison


Which future president served in Madison’s administration?

James Monroe, the country’s fifth president, served as James Madison’s secretary of state for Madison’s full two terms in office. For a brief time, Monroe also served as Madison’s secretary of war after the resignation of John Armstrong.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Presidents Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App