Andrew Johnson


Which senators’ courageous votes saved Johnson from being found guilty in the Senate vote?

Seven Republican senators refused to join their colleagues and voted not guilty on the charges. They were Lyman Trumbull of Illinois, James W. Grimes of Iowa, Edmund G. Ross of Kansas, William P. Fessenden of Maine, John B. Henderson of Nevada, Joseph F. Fowler of Tennessee, and Peter Van Winkle of West Virginia. The seven paid a steep price for their vote. None of them were reelected to the Senate. The deciding vote was cast by Ross. He rebounded to later serve as governor of the New Mexico territory in the 1880s.

A political cartoon satirizing President Johnson and Secretary of State William Seward for purchasing Alaska from Russia. The move was criticized at the time but history proved it to be a smart move.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Presidents Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App