Herbert Hoover


Who were Hoover’s U.S. Supreme Court appointees?

Hoover appointed three men to the U.S. Supreme Court: Charles Evans Hughes, Owen J. Roberts, and Benjamin N. Cardozo. Hughes, a former Republican nominee for president and secretary of state, had previously served as an associate justice from 1910 to 1916, then resigned to run for president. In 1930, Hoover appointed him Chief Justice of the U.S. Supreme Court, where he served until his death in 1941. Owen J. Roberts was nominated to the Supreme Court by Hoover after his first nominee, John J. Parker, was denied confirmation by the Senate. Roberts, who was involved in the prosecution of the Teapot Dome scandals by President Calvin Coolidge, served on the Court for fifteen years. Cardozo, formerly a well-respected jurist in New York, served on the Court for six years.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Presidents Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App