Andrew Jackson


Who were Jackson’s U.S. Supreme Court appointees?

Jackson appointed six men to the U.S. Supreme Court: John McLean in 1830, Henry Baldwin in 1830, James Moore Wayne in 1835, Roger Brooke Taney in 1836, Philip Pendleton Barbour in 1836, and John Catron in 1837.

McLean served more than thirty years on the Court and provided one of two dissenting votes years later in Dred Scot v. Sanford when the majority of the Court upheld slavery. Baldwin served fourteen years but suffered from mental illness later in his judicial career. James Moore Wayne also served more than thirty years on the Court. Roger Brooke Taney served twenty-eight years on the Court as Chief Justice. Barbour, a former Speaker of the House, served less than five years. Catron served more than twenty-eight years and was the only justice from Jackson’s home state of Tennessee.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Presidents Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App