Abraham Lincoln


Who were Lincoln’s Supreme Court appointees?

Lincoln nominated five justices to the U.S. Supreme Court: Noah Swayne, Samuel Miller, David Davis, Stephen Field, and Salmon P. Chase. Swayne was a former United States attorney in Ohio and a distinguished lawyer. Miller served on the Court for more than twenty-seven years and wrote more opinions than any other justice of his era. Davis had served as Lincoln’s campaign manager for his 1860 presidential campaign. Field ended up serving more than thirty-four years on the U.S. Supreme Court and remains the second longest serving Justice in Supreme Court history. Lincoln nominated Chase for the position of Chief Justice, replacing Chief Justice Roger B. Taney.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Presidents Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App