Franklin Delano Roosevelt


Who were Roosevelt’s vice presidents?

Roosevelt had three vice presidents during his tenure as president: John Nance Garner, Henry Agard Wallace, and Harry S. Truman. Garner, the Speaker of the House, had been considered a leading candidate for the 1932 Democratic nomination, but he urged his supporters to throw their support behind Roosevelt. He served as Roosevelt’s vice president for his first two terms. He disagreed with Roosevelt over the president seeking a third term, believing in the tradition of a two-term maximum. Garner challenged Roosevelt for the Democratic nomination, but did not win.

Wallace served as Roosevelt’s vice president from 1941 to 1945. He had served as secretary of agriculture for the president’s first two terms. Roosevelt, on the advice from many in the Democratic Party leadership concerned about Wallace’s unpopular views on closer ties with the Soviet Union, decided to remove Wallace from the vice president position and later installed him as secretary of commerce.

Roosevelt’s last vice president was Harry S. Truman. Truman, who served only eighty-two days in that capacity (his tenure was cut short by Roosevelt’s death) had previously served a decade as a U.S. senator from Missouri.

President Roosevelt signs the declaration of war against Germany.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Presidents Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App