Brain and Behavior

The Major Structures of the Brain

What are the four lobes of the cortex?

The cortex is divided into four lobes, the frontal, temporal, parietal, and occipital lobes. The frontal lobe comprises the front half of the cortex. It extends from the central sulcus forward. The thumb-like segments of the cortex are the temporal lobes. The parietal lobes cover much of the back surface of the cortex, extending from the central sulcus back to the border with the occipital lobe (the parietooccipital sulcus). Finally the occipital lobes are at the lower back end of the cortex.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Psychology Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App