Religious Beliefs

What are the “Five Pillars” of Muslim faith?

Muslims practice adherence to the Five Pillars of Faith: 1) profession (shahada) of belief in Allah as the only God and Muhammad as his prophet; 2) ritual prayer (salat, pronounced saLAAT) five times daily—at dawn, at noon, in the afternoon, in the evening, and at nightfall; 3) giving alms to the poor (zakat, pronounced zaKAAT); 4) fasting from dawn until dusk during the holy month of Ramadan (sawm); and 5) making the pilgrimage (Hajj) to the holy city of Mecca at least once during their lifetime.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Religion Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App