Health and Medicine

Diseases, Disorders, and Other Health Problems

How are the forms of cancer classified?

The over 150 different types of cancer are classified into four major groups:

  1. Carcinomas—Nine in ten cancers are carcinomas, which involve the skin and skin-like membranes of the internal organs.
  2. Sarcomas—Involve the bones, muscles, cartilage, fat, and linings of the lungs, abdomen, heart, central nervous system, and blood vessels.
  3. Leukemias—Develop in blood, bone marrow, and the spleen.
  4. Lymphomas—Involve the lymphatic system.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Science Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App