Human Body

Bones and Muscles

What are the major divisions of the human skeleton?

The human skeleton has two major divisions: the axial skeleton and the appendicular skeleton. The axial skeleton includes the bones of the center or axis of the body. The appendicular skeleton consists of the bones of the upper and lower extremities.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Science Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App