Human Body

Tissues, Organs, and Glands

What are the three types of muscle tissue?

There are three types of muscle tissue in the body: 1) smooth muscle; 2) skeletal muscle; and 3) cardiac muscle. Muscle tissue, consisting of bundles of long cells called muscle fibers, is specialized for contraction. It enables body movements, as well as the movement of substances within the body.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Science Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App