What groups of organisms have prokaryotic cells and which ones have eukaryotic cells?

All living organisms are grouped into three large groups called domains. They are: Bacteria, Archae, and Eukarya. The domains Bacteria (eubacteria or “true” bacteria) and Archae (archaebacteria or “ancient” bacteria) consist of unicellular organisms with prokaryotic cells. The domain Eukarya consists of four kingdoms: Protista, Fungi, Plantae, and Animalia. Organisms in these groups have eukaryotic cells. Eukaryon means “true nucleus.”


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Science Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App