General Science, Mathematics, and Technology

Societies, Publications, and Awards

What is the Turing Award?

The Turing Award, considered the Nobel Prize in computing, is awarded annually by the Association for Computing Machinery to an individual who has made a lasting contribution of major technical importance in the computer field. The award, named for the British mathematician A.M. Turing (1912–1954), was first presented in 1966. The Intel Corporation and Google Inc. provide financial support for the $250,000 prize that accompanies the award. Recent winners of the Turing Award include:

Year   Award Recipient
2005   Peter Naur (1928–)
2006   Frances E. Allen (1932–)
2007   Edmund M. Clarke (1945–), E. Allen Emerson (1954–), Joseph Sifakis (1946–)
2008   Barbara H. Liskov (1939–)
2009   Charles P. Thacker (1943–)


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Science Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App