Supreme Court Trivia

Hail to the Chief

Have any presidents nominated justices of another political party to the U.S. Supreme Court?

Yes, but it is the exception rather than the rule. Seven Republican presidents nominated Democratic justices: Abraham Lincoln nominated Stephen Field; Benjamin Harrison nominated Howell E. Jackson; Warren G. Harding nominated Pierce Butler; Herbert Hoover nominated Benjamin Cardozo; William Howard Taft nominated Associate Justice Edward White to chief justice and also nominated Horace Lurton and Joseph R. Lamar; Dwight D. Eisenhower nominated William J. Brennan; and Richard Nixon nominated Lewis Powell. Two Democratic presidents nominated Republican justices: Franklin D. Roosevelt nominated Harlan Fiske Stone; and Harry S. Truman nominated Harold H. Burton.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Supreme Court Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App