The Taney Court (1836–64)


How many and which justices served on the Taney Court?

Twenty justices served on the Taney Court, including Chief Justice Roger Taney and Justices Joseph Story, Smith Thompson, John McLean, Henry Baldwin, James M. Wayne, Philip Barbour, John Catron, John McKinley, Peter Daniel, Samuel Nelson, Levi Woodbury, Robert C. Grier, Benjamin Curtis, John Campbell, Nathan Clifford, Noah H. Swayne, Samuel F. Miller, David Davis, and Stephen Field.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Supreme Court Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App