Supreme Court Rules, Practices, and Traditions


What are circuit assignments?

Sometimes litigants will seek an immediate stay of a lower court ruling before a particular Supreme Court justice. The circuits are divided among the nine justices for them to consider these emergency applications. As of February 1, 2006, the circuit assignments for the current Court are:

Chief Justice John Roberts Jr. District of Columbia, Federal and Fourth Circuits
Justice John Paul Stevens Sixth and Seventh Circuits
Justice Antonin Scalia Fifth Circuit
Justice Anthony Kennedy Ninth Circuit
Justice David Souter First and Third Circuits
Justice Clarence Thomas Eleventh Circuit
Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg Second Circuit
Justice Stephen Breyer Tenth Circuit
Justice Samuel A. Alito Jr. Eighth Circuit


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Supreme Court Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App