The Chase Court (1864–73)


What was most unusual in Supreme Court history about the number of justices on the Chase Court?

In the early days of the Chase Court, in 1864 and 1865, there were ten justices on the Court. They were Chief Justice Chase and Justices Wayne, Catron, Nelson, Grier, Clifford, Swayne, Miller, Davis, and Field. Since 1869, when Congress passed the Judiciary Act of 1869, the maximum number of justices allowed has remained at nine.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Supreme Court Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App