The Taney Court (1836–64)


Which justice on the Taney Court was disowned by his home state during the Civil War?

Justice James Wayne, nominated by President Andrew Jackson in 1835, refused to leave the bench when the South and his home state of Georgia seceded from the Union. The Georgia press and others harshly criticized Wayne for his refusal to resign from the Court, as Justice John Campbell, an Alabama native, had done. Wayne not only refused to resign, but actually ruled in favor of President Lincoln’s blockading of Confederate city ports in the Prize Cases.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Supreme Court Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App