Supreme Court Rules, Practices, and Traditions


Who is the marshal of the U.S. Supreme Court?

The marshal of the U.S. Supreme Court is the person who oversees the security, maintenance, and operation of the Supreme Court Building. Federal law, 28 U.S.C. section 672, has provided for this position since 1867. There have been ten head marshals of the Supreme Court, including:

Richard C. Parsons 1867–72
John Nicolay 1872–87
John M. Wright 1888–1915
Frank Key Green 1915–38
Thomas E. Waggaman 1938–52
T. Perry Lippitt 1952–72
Frank M. Hepler 1972–76
Alfred M. Wong 1976–94
Dale E. Bosley 1994–2001
Pamela Talkin 2001–present


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Supreme Court Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App