Supreme Court Rules, Practices, and Traditions


Who is the reporter of the Supreme Court?

The reporter of decisions is the individual responsible for compiling the U.S. Supreme Court decisions into the United States Reports, the official compilation of U.S. Supreme Court opinions. There have been sixteen reporters in the history of the Court. They include:

Alexander Dallas 1790–1800
William Cranch 1801–15
Henry Wheaton 1816–27
Richard Peters 1828–42
Benjamin Howard 1843–60
Jeremiah Black 1861–62
John Wallace 1863–74
William Otto 1875–83
John Davis 1883–1902
Charles Butler 1902–16
Ernest Knaebel 1916–44
Walter Wyatt 1946–63
Henry Putzel Jr. 1964–79
Henry Curtis Lind 1979–89
Frank D. Wagner 1989–present


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Supreme Court Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App