Supreme Court Trivia

Supreme Courtfirsts and Beginnings

Who were the first six justices on the U.S. Supreme Court?

The first six justices nominated to the U.S. Supreme Court were John Jay (as chief justice), John Rutledge, William Cushing, James Wilson, John Blair, and Robert H. Harrison. The Senate confirmed all the nominees, but Harrison, a judge from Maryland, declined the nomination because of poor health. In his place, President George Washington nominated James Iredell of North Carolina.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Supreme Court Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App