Origins of the Federal Court System

Judiciary Act of 1789 and the Lower Federal Courts

Who were the original federal district court judges in these thirteen districts?

The thirteen original federal district court judges were: Richard Law (District of Connecticut); David Sewall (District of Maine); John Lowell (District of Massachusetts); John Sullivan (District of New Hampshire); James Duane (District of New York); Gunning Bedford (District of Delaware); Harry Innes (District of Kentucky); William Paca (District of Maryland); David Brearley (District of New Jersey); Francis Hopkinson (District of Pennsylvania); Cyrus Griffin (District of Virginia); Nathaniel Pendleton (District of Georgia); and William Drayton (District of South Carolina).


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Supreme Court Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App