Endocrine System

Pituitary Gland

How many different hormones are secreted by the pituitary gland?

Nine different peptide hormones are released by the pituitary gland. Seven are produced by the anterior pituitary gland and two are secreted by the posterior pituitary gland. The hormones of the anterior pituitary gland are thyroid-stimulating hormone (TSH), adrenocorticotropic hormone (ACTH), follicle-stimulating hormone (FSH), luteinizing hormone (LH), prolactin (PRL), growth hormone (GH), and melanocyte-stimulating hormone (MSH). The hormones of the posterior pituitary gland are antidiuretic hormone (ADH) and oxytocin.

The pituitary gland secretes hormones that affect organs throughout the body. (From Smeltzer, S.C., and Bare, B.G. Textbook of Medical-Surgical Nursing. 9th Ed. Philadelphia: Lippincott, Williams & Wilkins, 2000.)

This is a web preview of the "The Handy Anatomy Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App