Endocrine System

Pituitary Gland

What are the differences between the two regions of the pituitary gland?

The pituitary gland is divided into an anterior lobe (or adenohypophysis) and a posterior lobe. The anterior lobe is the larger section of the pituitary, accounting for 75 percent of the total weight of the gland. The anterior lobe contains endocrine secretory cells, which produce and secrete hormones directly into the circulatory system via an extensive capillary network that surrounds the region. The posterior lobe (or neurohypophysis) does not manufacture any hormones. It contains the axons from two different groups of hypothalamic neurons. Hormones produced in the hypothalamus are transported from the hypothalamus to the posterior pituitary within the axons.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Anatomy Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App