Lymphatic System

Lymphatic Vessels and Organs

What are the cancers of the lymphatic system?

Cancers that start in the lymphoid tissue are called lymphomas (from the Latin lympha, meaning “water,” as in the watery appearance of lymph, and from the Greek oma, meaning “tumor”). The two main types of lymphomas are Hodgkin’s lymphoma (also called Hodgkin’s disease) and non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma. There are several different subtypes of both Hodgkin’s lymphoma and non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Anatomy Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App