Defining the World

Continents and Islands

What are continents

Continents are the six or seven large land masses on the planet. If you count seven continents these include Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, Antarctica, North America, and South America. Some geographers refer to six continents by combining Europe and Asia as Eurasia, due to the fact that it is one large tectonic plate and land mass. So whether you count Europe and Asia one continent or two (divided at the Ural Mountains in western Russia) is up to the individual. Australia is the only continent that is its own country.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Geography Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App