Russia and Eastern Europe

Eastern Europe

What are the Balkan States

The Balkan States and the Baltic States are two completely different regions. The countries lying on the Balkan Peninsula are commonly referred to as the Balkan States (or the Balkans). The Balkan Peninsula itself lies between the Adriatic Sea (east of Italy) and the Black Sea. The countries on the peninsula include Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Greece, Macedonia, Romania, Serbia and Montenegro, Slovenia, and the portion of Turkey that lies in Europe.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Geography Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App