Russia and Eastern Europe

Eastern Europe

What are the Baltic States

The three Baltic States of Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania are so named because they lie on the Baltic Sea. These three countries became independent after the Soviet Union broke apart in 1991. Poland and Finland, which also lie on the sea, are sometimes also included as Baltic States.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Geography Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App