Constitutional Law

History of the Constitution

Did all of the 55 delegates sign the final product of the Philadelphia Convention?

No, several delegates left before the Convention convened in September. These included: William Richardson Davie, Oliver Ellsworth, William Houston, William Houstoun, John Lansing, Jr., Alexander Martin, Luther Martin, James McClurg, John Francis Mercer, William Pierce, Caleb Strong, George Wythe, and Robert Yates.

Additionally, three members of the Convention stayed until the end but still refused to sign the document. These three were Elbridge Gerry, Edmund Randolph, and George Mason.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Law Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App