Constitutional Law

History of the Constitution

Who were the 55 Founding Framers of the Philadelphia Convention of 1787

The following table lists who the Framers were and the states from which they hailed.

Founding Framers of the Philadelphia Convention of 1787

State Framers
Connecticut Oliver Ellsworth, William Samuel Johnson, Roger Sherman
Delaware Richard Bassett, Gunning Bedford, Jacob Broom, John Dickinson, George Read
Georgia Abraham Baldwin, William Few, William Houstoun, William Pierce
Maryland Daniel Carroll, Luther Martin, James McHenry, John F. Mercer, Daniel of St. Thomas Jenifer
Massachusetts Elbridge Gerry, Nathan Gorham, Rufus King, Caleb Strong
New Hampshire Michael Gillman, John Langdon
New Jersey David Brearley, Jonathan Dayton, William Houston, William Livingston, William Paterson
New York Alexander Hamilton, Robert Lansing, Robert Yates
North Carolina William Blount, William Richardson Davie, Alexander Martin, Richard Dobbs Spaight, Hugh Williamson
Pennsylvania George Clymer, Thomas Fitzsimons, Benjamin Franklin, Jared Ingersoll, Thomas Mifflin, Gouverneur Morris, Robert Morris, James Wilson
South Carolina Pierce Butler, Charles Cotesworth Pinckney, John Rutledge
Virginia John Blair, James Madison, George Mason, James McClurg, Edmund Randolph, George Washington, George Wythe


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Law Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App