Theodore Roosevelt


Who were Roosevelt’s U.S. Supreme Court appointees?

Roosevelt made three Supreme Court appointments: Oliver Wendell Holmes, William R. Day, and William H. Moody. Holmes, formerly a justice on the Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court, became one of the most famous justices in Supreme Court history. He served thirty years on the Court from 1902 until 1932, leaving at the age of ninety. Holmes became known for his judicial restraint and for his powerful First Amendment opinions. William R. Day, the former U.S. secretary of state under President William McKinley, served on the Court from 1903 until 1922. William R. Moody, who had served as Roosevelt’s navy secretary and U.S. attorney general, served on the Court from 1906 until 1910.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Presidents Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App