Astronomy and Space

Planets and Moons

How many dwarf planets are in the solar system?

A dwarf planet is an object in orbit around the sun that has sufficient mass (large enough) to have its own gravity pull itself into a round or near-round shape. There are currently five objects which are considered dwarf planets: Ceres, Pluto, Eris, Makemake, and Haumea. Scientists expect to discover additional dwarf planets or reclassify some large asteroids as dwarf planets.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Science Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App