What are the major oceans?

Most geographers have recognized four major oceans—Pacific, Atlantic, Indian, and Arctic—for many years. In 2000, the International Hydrographic Organization, an intergovernmental organization, dedicated to safety in navigation and support of the marine environment, delimited a fifth ocean called the Southern Ocean. The Southern Ocean extends from the coast of Antarctica to 60° south latitude. It encompasses portions of the Atlantic, Indian, and Pacific Oceans.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Science Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App