The Marshall Court (1801–35)


How many and which justices served on the Marshall Court?

Sixteen justices served on the Marshall Court, including Chief Justice John Marshall and Justices William Cushing, William Paterson, Samuel Chase, Bushrod Washington, Alfred Moore, William Johnson, Henry Brockholst Livingston, Thomas Todd, Gabriel Duvall, Joseph Story, Smith Thompson, Robert Trimble, John McLean, Henry Baldwin, and James M. Wayne.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Supreme Court Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App