The Marshall Court (1801–35)


What is noteworthy about the tenure of several of the Marshall Court justices?

From 1812 to 1824, Chief Justice John Marshall and Justices Washington, Johnson, Todd, Duvall, Story, and Thompson served the longest tenure of any sitting justices in the Court’s history.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Supreme Court Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App