The Rehnquist Court (1986–2005)


Who was scheduled to become the fifteenth justice to serve on the Rehnquist Court?

In July 2005, President George W. Bush nominated John G. Roberts Jr. to replace Justice Sandra Day O’Connor on the Court, following the announcement that she would retire. However, on September 3, Rehnquist died; two days later, President George W. Bush nominated the not-yet-confirmed Roberts to the post of chief justice. He was confirmed and O’Connor briefly served on the Roberts Court until a replacement was nominated and confirmed.

U.S. Supreme Court chief justice William Rehnquist. Hulton Archive/Getty Images.

This is a web preview of the "The Handy Supreme Court Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App