The Rehnquist Court (1986–2005)


What is noteworthy about the tenure of the final Rehnquist Court justices?

From 1994 until 2005, Chief Justice Rehnquist and Justices Stevens, O’Connor, Scalia, Kennedy, Souter, Thomas, Ginsburg, and Breyer served the second-longest tenure of any sitting nine justices in the Court’s history. The longest tenure of Supreme Court justices occurred in the years of the Marshall Court from 1812 to 1824, when the members were Chief Justice John Marshall and Justices Bushrod Washington, William Johnson, Thomas Todd, Gabriel Duvall, Joseph Story, and Smith Thompson.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Supreme Court Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App