Renewable and Alternative Energy

Which states have geothermal power plants?

Geothermal power plants in the United States produced 14.86 billion kilowatt-hours of electricity or 0.4 percent of the total U.S. electricity generation. Six states—California, Nevada, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, and Utah—all have geothermal power plants. The 34 geothermal power plants in California produce almost 90 percent of all geothermal generated electricity in the United States.


This is a web preview of the "The Handy Science Answer Book" app. Many features only work on your mobile device. If you like what you see, we hope you will consider buying. Get the App